The Maurice-Marie JANOT award and lecture

An APGI Award and Lecture sponsored by Sanofi-AventisLogoSANOFI

The Maurice-Marie Janot Award rewards an individual researcher also in reference of a team of researchers that during the years before the Conference published original and innovative papers in the domain of pharmaceutics, biopharmaceutics and pharmaceutical technology.

The Jury
The Jury is composed of 70 members known for their relevant contribution to pharmaceutical sciences. In a first round, each Jury member nominates three individuals considered to be worthy to receive the Award, ranked in decreasing order of preference.

The Jury members base their nomination on the researcher publications appeared in literature, considered original, creative and basis for future researches. They must cover aspects from basic to applied pharmaceutical research, devoted to pharmaceutics, biopharmaceutics and pharmaceutical technology, including new drug delivery systems, dosage form manufacturing, bioavailability, process optimization and validation, process analysis technology, new excipients, packaging etc.

No restrictions are made with respect to nationality, origin (industry or academia) or specialization (pharmacist or others) of the nominee. In a second round, the six-ten researchers having received the highest nomination votes are resubmitted to the Jury members for the indication of their final preference.

Presentation of the MMJ Lecture
The Award assignee will be invited (all expenses paid) to present his/her work in the form of a 45 minute lecture during the opening ceremony of the World Meeting on Pharmaceutics, Biopharmaceutics and Pharmaceutical Technology

 The Maurice-Marie JANOT award and lecture 2018 Sponsored by Sanofi 

to be given to Professor Elias Fattal from the University of Paris Sud during the 11th World Meeting on Pharmaceutics, Biopharmaceutics and Pharmaceutical Technology, 19 March to 22 March 2018, Granada, Spain

Elias Fattal, is a full professor in Pharmaceutical Technology at the University of Paris-Sud in Châtenay-Malabry in France and has been President of APGI from 2003 to 2010. He received his Pharmacy Degree and  Ph.D. in Pharmaceutical Sciences from the University of Paris-Sud and followed a three year residency in hospital pharmacy at the University of Lille. After visiting the Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry at the University of California, San Francisco for a post-doctoral position, he joined in 1992, the University of Paris-Sud as associate Professor and was appointed full Professor in 2000. He is heading the Institut Galien Paris-Sud a research unit associated to the CNRS. Dr Fattal research focuses on the design of nanotechnologies for targeted or local delivery of drugs and nucleic acids. He has authored more than 235 peer-reviewed articles and 28 book chapters and has issued 13 international patents (most of them granted in different countries). He has received the Pharmaceutical Sciences World Congress Research Achievement (2007), the controlled Release Society fellow Award (2016) and was awarded in 2016 by the French Academy of Sciences. He serves in the editorial board of 8 scientific journals.


More about the award

List of previous recipients